Former Tory businessman revealed as Brexit Party candidate in Peterborough by-election

Former Tory businessman revealed as Brexit Party candidate in Peterborough by-election

The Brexit Party has announced its candidate for the Peterborough by-election sparked by the first successful recall petition against a sitting MP.

Mike Greene, a former Conservative businessman who appeared on Channel 4’s The Secret Millionaire, will stand for Nigel Farage’s party on 6 June.

The 54-year-old wrote on Twitter: "I am proud to be taking on the challenge of standing for the Brexit Party and rebuilding trust in democracy."

Nigel Farage predicts 'a coalition against the people' from the Conservatives and Labour

Mr Farage said: "Mike Greene is a fantastic candidate and a big achiever in life. Will be a great campaign!"

Renew, UKEUP and Change UK have also indicated they plan to put up candidates, with deadline for nominations at 4pm on Thursday.

Fiona Onasanya, who became the first MP to be kicked out through a recall petition, announced last week she would not be standing.

The 35-year-old solicitor, who was permitted to stand under the recall rules, was convicted earlier this year of perverting the course of justice for lying about a speeding offence.

More than a quarter of voters in the Cambridgeshire constituency signed the petition to remove her.

She won the Cambridgeshire seat for Labour with a narrow majority of 607 in the 2017 general election.

Fiona Onasanya MP

Ms Onasanya was expelled from the party after being convicted, but remained in parliament as an independent until she was removed by the petition.

George Galloway announced he would be standing last week, but has now withdrawn after the Brexit Party’s announcement.

He said he had "tried to persuade" Mr Farage to support his candidacy to "emphasise the broad democratic alliance the campaign must be and balance the candidatures of Ms (Ann) Widdecombe and Ms (sister of William Rees-Mogg, Annunziata) Rees-Mogg".

The full list of declared candidates standing in the Peterborough by-election:

:: Labour: Lisa Forbes
:: Conservative Party: Paul Bristow
:: Liberal Democrats: Beki Sellick
:: Greens: Joseph Wells
:: Monster Raving Loony: Alan "Howling Laud" Hope
:: Social Democratic Party: Patrick O’Flynn
:: UKIP: John Whitby

Автор: katerinabil
Предыдущий материал

Юлия Путинцева не прошла в четвертьфинал турнира Mutua Madrid Open-2019

Следующий материал

LIVE: Corbyn pledges to ‘unite our country’ as he launches EU elections campaign

Коментарии (0)